West Division dominates CFL all-star awards

The West Division has dominated the CFL all-star awards, earning 23 of the 27 possible spots.

The Calgary Stampeders led the league with nine selections, followed by the B.C. Lions with six, the Winnipeg Blue Bombers with five, the Edmonton Eskimos with three, the Ottawa Redblacks with two and the Montreal Alouettes and the Hamilton Tiger-Cats with one each.

The Toronto Argonauts and Saskatchewan Roughriders were shut out entirely.

The all-stars were selected by 58 members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) as well the league’s nine head coaches and announced on Wednesday.

The five West Division teams finished with a collective .594 winning percentage while the four East squads were at .382. The West finished with 28-11 win-loss record against the East this season.

The East did get the last laugh, however, when the Ottawa Redblacks beat the Calgary Stampders 39-33 in the Grey Cup.

Here’s the full all-star list.


Bo Levi Mitchell** – Calgary Stampeders

Running Backs
Jerome Messam* – Calgary Stampeders
Andrew Harris* – Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Adarius Bowman – Edmonton Eskimos
Emmanuel Arceneaux – BC Lions
Derel Walker – Edmonton Eskimos
Ernest Jackson – Ottawa REDBLACKS

Jon Gott* – Ottawa REDBLACKS

Offensive Guards
Spencer Wilson* – Calgary Stampeders
Travis Bond – Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Offensive Tackles
Derek Dennis – Calgary Stampeders
Jovan Olafioye – BC Lions


Defensive Ends
Charleston Hughes – Calgary Stampeders
John Chick – Hamilton Tiger-Cats

Defensive Tackles
Almondo Sewell – Edmonton Eskimos
Micah Johnson – Calgary Stampeders

Solomon Elimimian – BC Lions
Bear Woods – Montreal Alouettes
Adam Bighill – BC Lions

Tommie Campbell – Calgary Stampeders
Ciante Evans – Calgary Stampeders

Defensive Backs
T.J. Heath – Winnipeg Blue Bombers
Jamar Wall – Calgary Stampeders

Taylor Loffler* – Winnipeg Blue Bombers


Justin Medlock – Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Richie Leone – BC Lions

Special Teams
Chris Rainey – BC Lions

Must Read