Mitchell, Jackson the nominees for CFL MOP

Calgary Stampeders quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell and Ottawa Redblacks receiver Earnest Jackson are the finalists for the CFL’s outstanding player award.

Mitchell, 26, led Calgary to a CFL-best 15-2-1 record this season.

Despite sitting out the Stampeders’ regular-season finale, Mitchell threw a league-high 32 TDs and finished second overall in passing with 5,385 yards while boosting his all-time record as a starter to 43-7-1, the best in league history.

Jackson had 88 catches for 1,225 yards and 10 TDs to help Ottawa (8-9-1) finish atop the East Division and make CFL history.

Jackson, Greg Ellingson (1,260 yards), Chris Williams (1,246) and Brad Sinopoli (1,036) all cracked the 1,000-yard receiving plateau for the second straight year, the first time four players from the same team have done so.

Voting was conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada and the nine CFL head coaches. The league will honour its top individual performers Nov. 24 in Toronto.

The other finalists included: linebackers Solomon Elimimian of the B.C. Lions and Bear Woods of the Montreal Alouettes (top defensive player); Hamilton Tiger-Cats slotback Andy Fantuz and Calgary Stampeders tailback Jerome Messam (Canadian); Ottawa centre Jon Gott and Calgary guard Derek Dennis (lineman); Hamilton returner Brandon Banks and kicker Justin Medlock of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers (special-teams); and Calgary receiver DaVaris Daniels and Ottawa offensive lineman Jason Lauzon-Seguin (rookie).

Calgary’s Dave Dickenson and Ottawa’s Rick Campbell are finalists for the CFL’s coach of the year award.

Must Read