CFL announces divisional all-stars

Quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell was one of nine Calgary Stampeders selected to the West Division all-star squad Wednesday.

Mitchell helped guided Calgary (15-2-1) to the CFL’s best regular-season record. He threw for 5,385 yards and a league-high 32 touchdown passes.

CFL rushing leader Jerome Messam (1,198 yards), tackle Derek Dennis, guard Spencer Wilson, defensive linemen Micah Johnson and Charleston Hughes (CFL-high 16 sacks), cornerbacks Tommie Campbell and Ciante Evans and defensive back Jamar Wall were the other Stampeders selected for the team.

Voting was conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada and the eight CFL head coaches.

The B.C. Lions had eight players named to the team, including receivers Emmanuel Arceneaux (105 catches, 1,566 yards, 13 TDs) and Bryan Burnman (69 catches, 1,392 yards, three TDs). The others included tackle Jovan Olafioye, linebackers Solomon Elimimian and Adam Bighill and defensive end Alex Bazzie, punter Richie Leone and kick-returner Chris Rainey.

Kicker Justin Medlock, who booted a CFL-record 60 field goals this season, topped the six Winnipeg Blue Bombers to receive an all-star nod. Joining Medlock are running back Andrew Harris, offensive lineman Travis Bond, linebacker Maurice Leggett, defensive back T.J. Heath and safety Taylor Loffler.

Standout receivers Adarius Bowman and Derel Walker comprised half of Edmonton’s four all-star selections. Bowman had a team-record 120 catches for a league-best 1,759 yards and nine TDs while Walker recorded 109 receptions for 1,589 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Centre Justin Sorensen and defensive tackle Almondo Sewell were the others.

Quarterback Trevor Harris and receivers Chris Williams, Ernest Jackson and Greg Ellingson were among the 11 Ottawa Redblacks voted to the East Division squad. Harris was the conference passing leader with 3,301 yards while Ellingson (76 catches, 1,260 yards, four TDs), Williams (77 catches, 1,246 yards, 10 TDs) and Jackson (88 catches, 1,225 yards, 10 TDs) all cracking the 1,000-yard plateau.

Tackle SirVincent Rogers, centre Jon Gott, defensive lineman Zack Evans, linebacker Damaso Munoz and defensive backs Abdul Kanneh, Mitchell White and Jonathan Rose also earned nods.

Linebacker Simoni Lawrence, defensive linemen Ted Laurent and John Chick and defensive back Emanuel Davis were among the Hamilton Tiger-Cats’ eight division all-stars. Also named were running back running back C.J. Gable, offensive lineman Ryan Bomben, kicker/punter Brett Maher and receiver/returner Brandon Banks.

Running back Brandon Whitaker (second in CFL rushing with 1,009 yards) and defensive lineman Shawn Lemon (14 sacks) were two of the Toronto Argonauts’ five selections. Offensive linemen Tyler Holmes and Chris Van Zeyl and kicker Lirim Hajrullahu were the others named.

Linebacker Bear Woods, who finished second in the CFL with 126 tackles, headlined Montreal’s three all-star selections. Also named was veteran slotback Nik Lewis (a five-time West Division all-star) and safety Marc-Olivier Brouillette.

Here are the number of wins by team:
Ottawa: 11
Calgary: 9
Hamilton: 8
B.C.: 8
Toronto: 5
Winnipeg: 6
Edmonton: 4
Montreal: 3
Saskatchewan: 0

WEST – Bo Levi Mitchell – CGY
EAST – Trevor Harris – OTT

WEST – Andrew Harris* – WPG
WEST – Jerome Messam* – CGY
EAST – C.J. Gable – HAM
EAST – Brandon Whitaker – TOR

WEST – Emmanuel Arceneaux – BC
WEST – Adarius Bowman – EDM
WEST – Bryan Burnham – BC
WEST – Derel Walker – EDM
EAST – Greg Ellingson – OTT
EAST – Ernest Jackson – OTT
EAST – Nik Lewis – MTL
EAST – Chris Williams – OTT

WEST – Derek Dennis – CGY
WEST – Jovan Olafioye – BC
EAST – SirVincent Rogers – OTT
EAST – Chris Van Zeyl* – TOR

WEST – Travis Bond – WPG
WEST – Spencer Wilson* – CGY
EAST – Ryan Bomben* – HAM
EAST – Tyler Holmes* – TOR

WEST – Justin Sorensen* – EDM
EAST – Jon Gott* – OTT


WEST – Micah Johnson – CGY
WEST – Almondo Sewell – EDM
EAST – Zack Evans* – OTT
EAST – Ted Laurent* – HAM

WEST – Alex Bazzie – BC
WEST – Charleston Hughes – CGY
EAST – John Chick – HAM
EAST – Shawn Lemon – TOR

WEST – Adam Bighill – BC
WEST – Solomon Elimimian – BC
WEST – Maurice Leggett – WPG
EAST – Simoni Lawrence – HAM
EAST – Damaso Munoz – OTT
EAST – Bear Woods – MTL

WEST – Tommie Campbell – CGY
WEST – Ciante Evans – CGY
EAST – Jonathan Rose – OTT
EAST – Mitchell White – OTT

WEST – T.J. Heath – WPG
WEST – Jamar Wall – CGY
EAST – Emanuel Davis – HAM
EAST – Abdul Kanneh – OTT

WEST – Taylor Loffler* – WPG
EAST – Marc-Olivier Brouillette* – MTL


WEST – Justin Medlock – WPG
EAST – Lirim Hajrullahu* – TOR

WEST – Richie Leone – BC
EAST – Brett Maher – HAM

WEST – Chris Rainey – BC
EAST – Brandon Banks – HAM

– CP

Must Read